Candidate ICANN Board Seat 12

21 August 2023

On Wednesday, 9 August 2023 (23:59 UTC), the recent call for nominations for the position of ICANN Board seat 12 was closed. In accordance with the applicable rules, the following candidate was nominated, seconded and has accepted her nomination: Katrina Sataki. Katrina is the only candidate. She accepted her nomination, and due diligence verifications will be starting shortly.

As per the relevant guideline and the timeline previously agreed upon by the ccNSO Council, an election will still be held, even if there is only one candidate. The ccNSO Council and ccNSO members have agreed that the ccNSO members shall propose and elect candidates for the two ICANN Board seats allocated to the ccNSO, and that the winner of said election – i.e. the candidate that receives the plurality of the votes cast – shall in turn be nominated to the ICANN Board seat by a majority vote of the ccNSO Council. The election will start 28 November 2023 (23:59 UTC), after completion of the due diligence verifications and an opportunity for the ccNSO membership to interact with Katrina. The ballot will include two options: the name of candidate and "None of the Above". The latter option was added after ccNSO members expressed the need for such an option.

A Question & Answer session will be held during ICANN78, prior to the start of the election. This Q&A session will provide the ccNSO members and broader ccTLD community an opportunity to interact with the candidate. In preparation of this session, the candidate was invited to share a written candidate statement. Please find it included in the links section below.