Call for nominations to the ccNSO Council closed

15 October 2019

On Tuesday, 15 October 2019 (23:59 UTC), the call for nominations to fill 5 seats in the ccNSO Council was closed. For each of the 5 geographic regions, at least 1 candidate has been nominated and seconded.

Next steps

After closure of the nomination period, the Election Manager will ask the candidates that are nominated and seconded whether they accept their nomination. The deadline for acceptance of the nominations is Wednesday, 23 October 2019 (23:59 UTC). Following this deadline, the list of candidates will be published on the ccNSO website.

A Q&A session will be held at the upcoming ccNSO Members Meeting at ICANN66 in Montréal, Canada. This Q&A session will provide the ccNSO members and broader ccTLD community an opportunity to interact with the candidates. Consult here the agenda of the ICANN66 ccNSO Members Meeting. The session chair is ccNSO Councilor Biyi Oladipo (.ng). In preparation of the Q&A session, the written candidate statements and possible other material shared by the candidates will be posted on the ccNSO website.

If at the close of nominations there are no more valid candidates in a particular geographic region than there are seats on the ccNSO Council available for that geographic region, then the nominated candidates shall be selected to serve on the ccNSO Council. Otherwise, an election shall be held for that geographic region, to select the ccNSO Councillors from among the valid candidates. The term start of the appointed Councillors will be at the end of ICANN67 in Cancun. The timeline for the elections (if any) is included in the link section below.

Background & Links

In March 2020, at the conclusion of ICANN67 in Cancun, the 3-year term of the following ccNSO Councillors ends:

  • Souleymane Oumtanaga (Africa)
  • Hirofumi Hotta (Asia-Pacific)
  • Giovanni Seppia (Europe)
  • Alejandra Reynoso (Latin America/Caribbean)
  • Stephen Deerhake (North America)

The nomination and secondment procedure to fill those seats started Tuesday, 24 September 2019 (00:01 UTC) and closed Tuesday, 15 October 2019 (23:59 UTC).