ccNSO ICANN Board Nomination Report

10 October 2010

11 October 2010


According to ICANN’s Bylaws Article IX, section 3.9, the ccNSO Council selects Seats 11 and 12 on the ICANN Board. As ICANN Board Seat 11 becomes vacant by the end of the ICANN meeting in June 2011, a call for nominees to fill the seat was conducted.

The timeline of the launch was defined following the ccNSO Rules and Guidelines (see page 25 and 26) and was approved by the ccNSO Council on 17 August 2010, where Gabriella Schittek also was appointed Election Manager (page 7).

Launch of Nomination Period

In accordance with the approved timeline, the nomination period was launched on 15 September 2010 at 00:00 UTC. All relevant documents were posted and announced on 14 September 2010 in order to meet the start of the nomination period:

The call for nominations was posted at on 14 September 2010.

The election procedure, including the timeline, was posted at on 14 September 2010.

Both documents were also posted to the and email list on 14 September 2010.

Close of Nomination Period

In accordance with the approved timeline, the nomination period closed on 6 October 2010 at 00:00 UTC.

Nomination Results

Chris Disspain (.AU) was nominated by Keith Davidson (.NZ) on17 September 2010. The nomination was seconded by Hiro Hotta (.JP) on 18 September 2010; Lynn Gravel, on behalf of Byron Holland (.CA) on19 September 2010; Annebeth Lange (.NO) on 20 September 2010; Oscar Robles-Garay (.MX) on 20 September 2010; Vika Mpisane (.ZA) on 22 September 2010; Demi Getschko (.BR) on 27 September 2010; and Lesley Cowley (.UK) on 5 October 2010.

No other nominations were received.

The nomination archives can be found at:


No irregularities were noted.


Chris Disspain accepted the nomination on 7 October 2010.


As Chris Disspain is the only candidate who received a nomination and was seconded within the nomination period, no elections need to be held.

The results will be presented to the ccNSO Council for selection of the ICANN Board member nominee at the upcoming Council meeting on 19 October 2010.