Call for nominations to the ccNSO Council closed

03 October 2018

On Wednesday, 3 October 2018, 23.59 UTC, the call for nominations to fill 5 seats in the ccNSO Council was closed. For each of the 5 geographic regions, at least 1 candidate has been nominated and seconded.

Next steps

After closure of the nomination period, the Election Manager will ask the candidates that are nominated and seconded whether they accept their nomination. The deadline for acceptance of the nominations is Thursday. 11 October 2018, noon UTC. Following this deadline, the list of candidates will be published on the ccNSO website.

If at the close of nominations there are no more valid candidates in a particular geographic region than there are seats on the ccNSO Council available for that geographic region, then the nominated candidates shall be selected to serve on the ccNSO Council. Otherwise, an election shall be held for that geographic region, to select the ccNSO Councillors from among the valid candidates. The timeline for the elections (if any) is included in the link section below.

At the Q&A session - held during the ccNSO Members Meeting at ICANN63 in Barcelona - there will be an opportunity for the ccNSO members and broader ccTLD community to interact with the candidates. The session chair is Peter Vergote (.be). The Q&A session with the candidates for the ccNSO council is scheduled for day 1 of the ccNSO Members Meeting, on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 between 14:20 - 15:00 local time in Room 114.

Background & Links

In March 2019, at the conclusion of ICANN64 in Kobe (9-14 March 2019), the 3-year term of the following ccNSO Councillors ends:

Africa: Abibu Ntahigiye
Asia-Pacific: Debbie Monahan
Europe: Peter Vergote
Latin America/Caribbean: Demi Getschko
North America: Pablo Rodriguez

The nomination and secondment procedure to fill those seats started Wednesday, 12 September 2018 (00:01 UTC) and closed Wednesday, 3 October 2018 (23:59 UTC).