SOP Working Group Meeting Notes

13 March 2011

Attendees:

Fahd Batayneh, .jo
Lesley Cowley, .uk
Atsushi Endo. .jp
Mohamed Ibrahim, .so
Staffan Johnson, .se
Roelof Meijer, .nl (Chair)
Debbie Monahan, .nz
Paulos Nyirenda, .mw (telephone)
Kathryn Reynolds, .ca
Pablo Rodriguez, .pr
Giovanni Seppia, .eu
Paul Szyndler, .au
Peter Van Roste, CENTR
Mathieu Weill, .fr

Support Staff:

Bart Boswinkel Gabriella Schittek

Apologies:

Leonid Todorov, .ru

- It was noted that the group was late in supplying comments to the Strategic Plan and that the comments received were of varying quality.
 - However, it was also acknowledged that ICANN's delay in publishing the Strategic plan, didn't allow the community to supply proper feedback.
- It was decided to keep the system of topic-oriented sub-groups, submitting their comments to the Working Group Chair who then compiles the input together with Bart Boswinkel into one, consistent submission.
 - Clear deadlines will be given to each group and a team leader will be appointed. The task of the team leader is to start the conversations within their respective group, coordinate it and ensure it will deliver comments within the set deadlines.
 - Furthermore, each team is expected to submit maximum one page with clear points (which later can be built out into phrases).
- Kurt Pritz and Carole Cornell joined the meeting, explaining that since the Strategic Plan only had only been a "dusting off" of the previous year's plan, ICANN had changed the process, not expecting to receive as much input as it

- did. Therefore, the anticipated process had to be abandoned and additional community consultations were allowed, which then caused delays.
- SOP members asked what the process was once input had been received and how the comments were taken into account.

Kurt replied that there is a redline paper, showing incorporated comments in the draft plan. Not all comments are incorporated, as not all are understood.

Once the comments are incorporated, the paper goes to the ICANN board, which also requests changes.

It was requested that ICANN in future should explain what happened to SO/AC input, which was not implemented into the plan.

Furthermore, it was asked whether any changes have been made to the process, to ensure that ICANN will stick to their own deadlines, as it is otherwise hard for the community to submit input in a timely manner.

There was no new process yet in place, however, Kurt committed to have a process in place by the Singapore meeting, which will be clear and easy for the community to follow.

The SOP members offered to help improving the process by submitting some ideas. Kurt welcomed this.

It was decided to set up a telephone conference on this topic before the Singapore meeting.

The group then asked if there had been any major themes of input and which input had not been incorporated. It was underlined that it is hard for the community to understand how their input is handled, unless all comments are tracked. Once again, it was requested that ICANN provides an explanation on why a comment had not been taken into account.

Kurt replied that much input was about putting up measurable deliverables or quantitative metrics (such as deliver clearer timelines). He also noted that 38 objectives had been incorporated in total, some were more measurable than others. Some ccNSO input on "Additional Accountability Mechanisms" had initially been incorporated, however, after community discussions, it was dropped.

There was also a debate on how to approach the DNS Security item, where, in the end, some wording from the AoC was incorporated.

The Working Group members strongly felt that the DNS CERT suggestion preempted community discussions on the subject, and felt that the text was controversial, pre-determining the outcome of the cross-constituency Working Group that was being formed to examine this topic.

Further criticism was directed at the section talking about "Improving qualifications of ccTLD community", as well as the section on "Promoting fair

opportunities for open entry to internet related markets around the globe", which was felt was far too broad for ICANN's narrow mission.

Furthermore, it was noted that there didn't seem to be any cost reduction programme in place in the Strategic Plan. It was felt that this was somewhat unusual, given the prominence of all the financial discussions taking place on financial contributions, meeting costs etc.

Kurt confirmed that cost reductions are not specified in the plan, however, he underlined that there is emphasis on improving internal processes and services within ICANN, which the recently undertaken IANA Excellence effort shows.

• It was agreed that Kurt would update the SOP Chair on the further developments of the plan within the following month.

Follow-Up SOP Working Group Meeting Notes

17 March 2011

Fahd Batayneh, .jo Atsushi Endo, .jp Roelof Meijer, .nl (Chair) Debbie Monahan, .nz Giovanni Seppia, .eu Peter Van Roste, CENTR

Support Staff

Bart Boswinkel Kristina Nordström Gabriella Schittek

- A timeline was set for when the Working Group members had to submit their contributions to the Operational Plan:
 - 24 March: All sub-teams submit their input
 - 29 March: The Chair and Bart Boswinkel submit their compilation to the ccTLD community in order to allow the community to use the SOP Working Group comments for their comments
 - 4 April: Last day for submitting Comments on Operational Plan

The group was reminded that the SOP Working Group was mandated to submit their own comments to ICANN, without prior Council approval.

- Following areas from the Operational Plan were to be commented on:
 - Core Operations
 - New qTLDs
 - General Budget/Finances
 - Projects (IANA, IANA improvements, DNSSEC promotion)

These areas had been identified as the most important ones in the communitywide survey, conducted by the SOP Working Group in a previous year.

• The Working Group members were assigned to following groups:

General Budget/Finance

Byron Holland Roelof Meijer (coordinator) Peter Van Roste Mathieu Weill

Core Operations

Lesley Cowley Staffan Johnson Debbie Monahan Paulos Nyirenda Giovanni Seppia (coordinator) Leonid Todorov

New gTLDs

Fahd Batayneh (coordinator) Atsushi Endo Pablo Rodiguez

Projects

Sabine Dolderer (coordinator) Mohamed Ibrahim Grigori Saghyan Eswari Sharma Oscar Robles